Bloody Scotland Crime Book of the Year 2020 – McIlvanney Prize

Covid19 has caused another mighty crime fiction conference to cancel its gathering. But the writers did the amazing work and the prizes will still be awarded. The Bloody Scotland organizers have announced the shortlist for the Bloody Scotland Debut Crime Book of the Year and the longlist for the McIlvanney Prize for the Scottish Crime Book of the Year. The McIlvanney Prize recognizes excellence in Scottish crime writing, and includes a prize of £1,000 and nationwide promotion in Waterstones.


Debut Short List

Deborah Masson, Hold Your Tongue
Stephen O’Rourke, The Crown Agent
Marion Todd, See Them Run
Francine Toon, Pine


 McIlvanney Prize for the Scottish Crime Book of the Year

Lin Anderson, Time for the Dead
Lisa Gray, Bad Memory
Andrew James Greig, Whirligig
Doug Johnstone, A Dark Matter
Val McDermid, How the Dead Speak
Ben McPherson, The Island
James Oswald, Bury Them Deep
Ambrose Parry, The Art of Dying  aka Chris Broomyre and Marisa Haetzman
Mary Paulson-Ellis, The Inheritance of Solomon Farthing
Caro Ramsay, The  Red, Red Snow
Craig Robertson, Watch Him Die
Francine Toon, Pine


Congratulations to all the nominees!


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll to Top