2024 Pulitzer Prizes for Journalism

There are 22 Pulitzer categories. In 21 of those categories the winners receive a $15,000 cash award and a certificate. Only the winner in the Public Service category of the Journalism competition is awarded the gold medal. The Public Service prize is always awarded to a news organization, not an individual.

The Public Service Award goes to ProPublica, for the work of Joshua Kaplan, Justin Elliott, Brett Murphy, Alex Mierjeski and Kirsten Berg  for “Groundbreaking and ambitious reporting that pierced the thick wall of secrecy surrounding the Supreme Court to reveal how a small group of politically influential billionaires wooed justices with lavish gifts and travel, pushing the Court to adopt its first code of conduct.”

The Groundbreaking News Award goes to the Staff of Lookout Santa Cruz, CA “For its detailed and nimble community-focused coverage, over a holiday weekend, of catastrophic flooding and mudslides that displaced thousands of residents and destroyed more than 1,000 homes and businesses.”

The Investigative Reporting Award goes to Hannah Dreier of The New York Times “For a deeply reported series of stories revealing the stunning reach of migrant child labor across the United States—and the corporate and governmental failures that perpetuate it.”

The Explanatory Reporting Award goes to Sarah Stillman of The New Yorker “For a searing indictment of our legal system’s reliance on the felony murder charge and its disparate consequences, often devastating for communities of color.”

The Local Reporting Award goes to Sarah Conway of City Bureau and Trina Reynolds-Tyler of the Invisible Institute “For their investigative series on missing Black girls and women in Chicago that revealed how systemic racism and police department neglect contributed to the crisis.”

The National Reporting Award goes to the Staff of Reuters “For an eye-opening series of accountability stories focused on Elon Musk’s automobile and aerospace businesses, stories that displayed remarkable breadth and depth and provoked official probes of his companies’ practices in Europe and the United States.” 

the Staff of The Washington Post “For its sobering examination of the AR-15 semi-automatic rifle, which forced readers to reckon with the horrors wrought by the weapon often used for mass shootings in America.”

The International Reporting Award goes to the Staff of The New York Times “For its wide-ranging and revelatory coverage of Hamas’ lethal attack in southern Israel on October 7, Israel’s intelligence failures and the Israeli military’s sweeping, deadly response in Gaza.”

The Feature Writing Award goes to Katie Engelhart, contributing writer, The New York Times “For her fair-minded portrait of a family’s legal and emotional struggles during a matriarch’s progressive dementia that sensitively probes the mystery of a person’s essential self.”

The Editorial Writing Award goes to David E. Hoffman of The Washington Post  “For a compelling and well-researched series on new technologies and the tactics authoritarian regimes use to repress dissent in the digital age, and how they can be fought.”

The Illustrated Reporting and Commentary Award goes to Medar de la Cruz, contributor, The New Yorker “For his visually-driven story set inside Rikers Island jail using bold black-and-white images that humanize the prisoners and staff through their hunger for books.”

The Breaking News Photography Award goes to the Photography Staff of Reuters “For raw and urgent photographs documenting the October 7th deadly attack in Israel by Hamas and the first weeks of Israel’s devastating assault on Gaza.”

The Feature Photography Award goes to the Photography Staff of Associated Press “For poignant photographs chronicling unprecedented masses of migrants and their arduous journey north from Colombia to the border of the United States.”

Congratulations to all!




Please follow and like us:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Scroll to Top