The Hammett Prize – 2016



The International Association of Crime Writers (North American Branch) awarded the HAMMETT PRIZE for a 2015 work of literary excellence in the field of crime writing by a US or Canadian author, on October 29, 2016. The winner received the famous ‘Thin Man’ bronze trophy, and bragging rights.  🙂

The winner is indicated in red.

Congratulations to Ms. Sandlin and all the nominees:

The Stranger, by Harlan Coben
Sorrow Lake: A March and Walker Crime Novel, by Michael J. McCann
The Whites: A Novel, by Richard Price, writing as Harry Brandt
The Do-Right, by Lisa Sandlin
The Organ Broker: A Novel, by Stu Strumwasser


Past winners include:

2014: Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King


2013: Angel Baby by Richard Lange

2012: Oregon Hill by Howard Owen


2011: The Killer is Dying by James Sallis


2010: The Nearest Exit by Olen Steinhauer

2009: The Manual of Detection by Jedediah Berry

2008: The Turnaround by George Pelecanos


2007: The Outlander by Gil Adamson


2006: The Prisoner of Guantánamo by Dan Fesperman


2005: Alibi by Joseph Kanon


Have you read any of the 2015 nominated books? Or the Hammett Prize winners from previous years? Now’s your chance.  🙂



Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *