The National Book Award for fiction – 2014 Long List and Finalists



“The mission of the National Book Foundation and the National Book Awards is to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of great writing in America.” (


There were over 440 submissions in the category of fiction for adult readers this year. The National Book Award recipients must be American citizens and an American publisher must have published the entries during the previous twelve months.


The publishers submit titles to the NBA Foundation for consideration. Self-published works are not eligible unless the author also publishes books by other authors. Different panels for each category read all the submitted titles. This year, writers, publishers, librarians, booksellers, and book critics served on the panels.


The list of winners in fiction for adult readers for the last ten years:

2004:  “The News from Paraguay” by Lily Tuck

2005:  “Europe Central” by William T. Vollmann

2006:  “The Echo Maker” by Richard Powers

2007:  “Tree of Smoke” by Denis Johnson

2008:  “Shadow Country” by Peter Matthiessen

2009:  “Let the Great World Spin” by Colum McCann

2010:  “Lord of Misrule” by Jaimy Gordon

2011:  “Salvage the Bones” by Jesmyn Ward

2012:  “The Round House” by Louise Erdrich

2013:  “The Good Lord Bird” by James McBride


The 2014 long list of fiction nominees is:

“An Unnecessary Woman” by Rabih Alameddine

“The UnAmericans” by Molly Antopol

“Wolf in White Van” by John Darnielle

“All the Light We Cannot See” by Anthony Doerr

“Redeployment” by Phil Klay

“Station Eleven” by Emily St. John Mandel

“Thunderstruck & Other Stories” by Elizabeth McCracken

“Orfeo” by Richard Powers

“Lila” by Marilynne Robinson

“Some Luck” by Jane Smiley


The long list was whittled to five finalists and announced on October 15th.

The Finalists for Adult Fiction in 2014 are:

"An Unnecessary Woman"  by Rabih Alameddine

"All the Light We Cannot See"  by Anthony Doerre

"Redeployment"  by Phil Klay –  WINNER

"Station Eleven"  by Emily St. John Mandel

"Lila"  by Marilynne Robinson

The winner was announced on November 19th and will receive $10,000 and promotion of their winning title (as well as of their future work).


Have you read any of the books on the National Book Award list? If so, let us know what you thought in the comments below.

Happy reading!



Be Sociable, Share!

8 Responses to The National Book Award for fiction – 2014 Long List and Finalists

Author Profiles
Recent Comments
Subscribe to Newsletter