Killer Nashville’s 2015 Silver Falchion Award



Killer Nashville is one of the most popular conferences in the country for writers and readers and is held each year in the Nashville, Tennessee area. Established by writer and filmmaker Clay Stafford in 2006, the conference assists authors in the craft of mystery, thriller, suspense and crime fiction writing. Stafford and American Blackguard, Inc. also work to further various literacy programs throughout the year.


As a part of both encouraging and rewarding writers in their varied fields, the Silver Falchion Award is given to outstanding books published in the previous year. This year, the awards were presented on October 31st. Here is a partial list of 2015 finalists and winners for their 2014 titles:


Best Novel: Romantic Suspense

Judgment – Carey Baldwin
The Lost Key – Catherine Coulter and J.T. Ellison
Top Secret Twenty-One – Janet Evanovich
Sweet Damage – Rebecca James
*Truth Be Told – Hank Phillippi Ryan received the award


Best Novel: Cozy/Traditional
Angelica’s Smile – Andrea Camilleri
The Question of the Missing Head – E. J. Copperman and Jeff Cohen
The Alpine Yeoman – Mary Daheim
Designated Daughters – Margaret Maron
*Hunting Shadows – Charles Todd received the award


Best Novel: Literary Suspense

The Dead Will Tell – Linda Castillo
Red 1-2-3 – John Katzenbach
Mr. Mercedes – Stephen King
*The Day She Died – Catriona McPherson received the award
The Farm – Tom Rob Smith


Best Novel: Political Thriller/Adventure

Night Heron – Adam Brookes
Dark Spies: A Spycatcher Novel – Matthew Dunn
The Hilltop – Assaf Gavron
End Game – John Gilstrap
*I am Pilgrim – Terry Hayes received the award
Assassin’s Game – Ward Larsen


Best Novel: Crime Thriller

The Bone Orchard – Paul Doiron
Dakota – Gwen Florio
Gangsterland – Tod Goldberg
The Keeper – John Lescroart
*In the Blood – Lisa Unger  received the award


Best First Novel: Cozy/Traditional/Historical

Honor Above All – J. Bard-Collins
To Fudge or Not to Fudge – Nancy Coco
Murder at Honeychurch Hall – Hannah Dennison
*The Life We Bury – Allen Eskens  received the award
Dying to Know – TJ O’Connor


Best First Novel: Mystery/Thriller:

Someone Else’s Skin – Sarah Hilary
Hotlanta – Mark Neilson
The American Mission – Matthew Palmer
*The Black Hour – Lori Rader-Day received the award
The Hawley Book of the Dead – Chrysler Szarlan
The Ways of the Dead – Neely Tucker
The Martian – Andy Weir



Please visit  for the rest of the categories.


Congratulations to all the finalists and winners! 



Be Sociable, Share!