International Thriller Writers Awards – 2016



International thriller writers are among the best writers anywhere. They bring us thrills and chills, keep us awake long into the wee hours of the morning and leave us cheering for more. You’re also likely to see many of them on top mystery writer lists all over the world. Here are the amazing finalists and winners (indicated in red) for the 2016 ITW Thriller Awards, announced at the banquet:


Best Hardcover Novel

Ian Caldwell: “The Fifth Gospel”

Tess Gerritsen: “Playing with Fire”

Paula Hawkins: “The Girl on the Train”

David Morrell: “The Inspector of the Dead”

Karin Slaughter: “Pretty Girls”


Best First Novel

Sandra Block: “Little Black Lies”

LS Hawker: “The Drowning Game”

Gilly Macmillan: “What She Knew”

Brian Panowich: “Bull Mountain”

Hester Young: “The Gates of Evangeline”


Best Paperback Original Novel

Marc Cameron: “Day Zero”

John Gilstrap: “Against All Enemies”

Andrew Mayne: “Name of the Devil”

D.J. McIntosh: “The Angel of Eden”

Jean Rabe: “Pockets of Darkness”


Best eBook Original Novel

Diane Capri: “Jack and Joe”

Chris Kuzneski:  “The Prisoner’s Gold”

Robert McClure:  “Deadly Lullaby”

Caitlin O’Connell:  “Ivory Ghosts”

Eric Rickstad: “Lie in Wait”

Please visit to see the nominees and winners for Best Short Story and Best Young Adult Novel.


Congratulations to all the finalists and winners! The International Thriller Writers 2016 award winners were announced at ThrillerFest XI, at the Grand Hyatt in New York City, on July 9th.



Be Sociable, Share!