Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction 2015



The Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction was established to commemorate the 50th anniversary of “To Kill A Mockingbird, written by former Alabama law student, Harper Lee. For the past five years, the University of Alabama School of Law and the ABA Journal have partnered to award the prize to a published work of fiction from the previous year that best demonstrates “the role of lawyers in society and their power to effect change.”


This year’s finalists were:


“My Sister’s Grave,” by Robert Dugoni   (reviewed here)

“Terminal City,” by Linda Fairstein  

“The Secret of Magic,” by Deborah Johnson  

The winner was Deborah Johnson's "The Secret of Magic."

Congratulations to all the finalists!


Previous winners:



John Grisham, “The Confession”



Michael Connelly, “The Fifth Witness”



Paul Goldstein, “Havana Requiem”



John Grisham, “Sycamore Row”



The 2015 Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction was awarded in Washington, D.C., on Sept. 3, and the winner received a signed copy of To Kill a Mockingbird.



Be Sociable, Share!