Bloody Scotland Crime Book of the Year 2016




The Scotland Crime Book of the Year Award is given at Bloody Scotland, a premier conference for crime writers. The winner receives 1,000 pounds and the book is promoted for a year at Waterstone’s, a major book chain in the UK. This year The McIlvanney Prize was awarded on September 9th. This year’s long list, chosen by an independent panel of readers, is below, with the four finalists noted with ‘*’. The winner at Bloody Scotland was chosen by a librarian, a journalist and a newspaper editor. Click on the book title to find out more about the book.


The winner is indicated in red.


*Black Widow – Chris Brookmyre

The Special Dead – Lin Anderson

* The Jump – Doug Johnstone

A Fine House in Trinity – Lesley Kelly

In the Cold Dark Ground – Stuart MacBride

*Splinter the Silence – Val McDermid

The Damage Done – James Oswald

Even Dogs in the Wild – Ian Rankin

Open Wounds – Douglas Skelton

*Beloved Poison – E. S. Thomson 


Congratulations to the McIlvanney winner and all the nominees at Bloody Scotland!  🙂





Be Sociable, Share!