Anthony Awards – Bouchercon 2015




The World Mystery Convention, usually referred to as Bouchercon, is an annual conference named after Anthony Boucher, a mystery author and critic. This event honors various segments of the mystery and crime fiction community. The nominees for the 2015 Anthony Award were chosen by attendees at the 2014 convention, as well as early registrants for the 2015 event. The recognized works were published during 2014 and the winners were announced in early October. The competition was fierce among the seasoned authors and the debut authors are terrific!


Best Novel

“Lamentation” – Joe Clifford

“The Secret Place” – Tana French

“After I'm Gone” – Laura Lippman  received the award

“The Long Way Home” – Louise Penny

“Truth Be Told” – Hank Phillippi Ryan


Best First Novel

“Blessed Are the Dead” – Kristi Belcamino

“Ice Shear” – M.P. Cooley

“Invisible City” – Julia Dahl

“The Life We Bury” – Allen Eskens

“The Black Hour” – Lori Rader-Day  received the award


Best Paperback Original

“Stay With Me” – Alison Gaylin

“The Killer Next Door” – Alex Marwood

“The Day She Died” – Catriona McPherson  received the award

“World of Trouble” – Ben H. Winters

“No Stone Unturned” – James W. Ziskin


Best Short Story

"Honeymoon Sweet" Murder at the Beach: The Bouchercon Anthology 2014 – Craig Faustus Buck

"The Shadow Knows" Chesapeake Crimes: Homicidal Holidays – Barb Goffman

"Howling at the Moon" Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, Nov 2014 – Paul D. Marks

"Of Dogs & Deceit" Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, Nov 2014 – John Shepphird

"The Odds Are Against Us" Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, Nov 2014 – Art Taylor  received the award


Additional categories and nominations can be seen at Congratulations to all the nominees and winners!


The 2014 winners were as follows:

BEST TV EPISODE – “The Blacklist” – Pilot

BEST CRITICAL / NON-FICTION – Daniel Stashower’s “The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War”

BEST FIRST NOVEL – Matt Coyle’s “Yesterday's Echo”

BEST PAPERBACK ORIGINAL – Catriona McPherson’s “As She Left It”

BEST NOVEL – William Kent Krueger’s “Ordinary Grace”


Happy Reading!


Be Sociable, Share!