The Hammett Prize – 2015



The International Association of Crime Writers (North American Branch) will award the HAMMETT PRIZE for a 2014 work of excellence in crime writing by a US or Canadian author, at the beginning of October.  The prize is the “Thin Man” trophy, and of course, bragging rights.  :-)


Congratulations to all the nominees:           
Wayfaring Stranger by James Lee Burke

Smoke River by Krista Foss

Gangsterland by Tod Goldberg

Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King

Goodhouse by Peyton Marshall

Past winners include:


2013: Angel Baby by Richard Lange

2012: Oregon Hill by Howard Owen

2011: The Killer is Dying by James Sallis

2010: The Nearest Exit by Olen Steinhauer

2009: The Manual of Detection by Jedediah Berry

2008: The Turnaround by George Pelecanos

2007: The Outlander by Gil Adamson

2006: The Prisoner of Guantánamo by Dan Fesperman

2005: Alibi by Joseph Kanon

2004: Prince of Thieves by Chuck Hogan


Have you read any of this year’s nominees or the past winners? Let us know in the comments below.



Be Sociable, Share!
Follow Homicide Detective Charlie Kerrian on my crime fiction blog

Follow me